Ellie’s meet & greet

I took Ellie (my dog) to a “meet and greet” for a new groomer this past weekend.  As Jen would say… Really?…Really?!

It’s not as ridiculous as it sounds… Okay, maybe it is.

I’ve been thinking about changing groomers for awhile now.  Ellie is a cockapoo and I have her groomed about every 5-6 weeks (I know to some it’s excessive, but I’m fine with it… really!). Dog gooming is one of the many things on my list of “things I don’t want to know how to do” so I pay to have it done.) Anyway, she is always anxious when we go to the groomer and has a huge attitude problem when I pick her up, so I thought I would try a new groomer.

As I’m walking to the groomer (I live in the city, and this new groomer lives within walking distance – PLUS), a few thoughts are running through my head:

a)      She’s a dog.  As long as there is some sort of treat involved, she typically doesn’t care who she meets as long as they are human (she’s a little pickier when it comes to other animals).

b)      I don’t take myself for meet and greets for my own salon appointments, even though I’m constantly anxious at the thought of a haircut.

c)       Am I really doing this?  Who takes their dog to the groomer without an appointment to get groomed?  And on a Saturday morning at 9am when I should be finishing my pot of coffee?

We arrive, and Ellie immediately tries to abort mission and get the heck out of there as fast as possible.  It becomes painfully obvious to me at that point that it’s not the groomer, but the smell of getting groomed that gets her anxious.  It doesn’t matter who, or what kind of treat you’re trying to give her for positive association (as evidenced by her immediately spitting treat on the ground that the groomer gave her when we walked in).  She’s just not a fan of being groomed.

So, we stay for a few minutes, make an appointment to come back for an actual bath, and start walking home.  This time I’m thinking…I can’t believe I just did that. And then I think… I can’t believe I just did that.

Then again, it shouldn’t surprise me all that much…the night before I was getting ready for an overnight on my family’s boat, and packed Ellie’s overnight bag, which included:

a)      Food – both regulardaily food, treats, and special treats

b)      Toys  – her favorite, a new one, her old one and, of course a blue one… as though she’s going to be sitting there bored instead of sleeping while we are swimming

c)       Life jacket (I KNOW)

Contrast that to me packing my own bag for the same trip… I just throw some clothes and a bottle of Skinnygirl Margarita in a bag, and I’m all set.

This whole experience makes me realize that I’m a little (A LOT) crazy when it comes to my dog.  I need to get a hobby.  But at least I know that the rest of the Sheality girls are (almost) as crazy as I am.

– Erin

Leave a Reply

