Motivation and High School Reunions

I’m trying to get motivated to shop.  I have a high-school reunion in a few weeks and would like to have new things to wear for the weekend of activities.  I won’t say what reunion it is, but it’s a milestone year and I haven’t seen the vast majority of these people in a looonnng time.

OH, it’s also at the beach.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the beach and spend more than my share of time at the beach.  But the thought of wearing a bathing suit in front of these people is more than a little intimidating!  I am much more accepting of my body and myself than I was in high school, but there’s more to accept.

One of the disadvantages of working from home is never having the right clothes to actually go places.  I don’t want to be too trendy and look like I’m trying to fight my age, but I’m not stuck in a time warp, either.  I don’t want to be too casual like I didn’t care what they thought.  I don’t want to dress too formally and appear snobbish, since I’m pretty sure I’m not in that category.  Maybe I’m over-analyzing…..

And what do you talk about?  Their children?  While I appreciate that raising children is the most admirable and difficult job, I just don’t have much to add to that conversation since I haven’t done it.  Their job?  I’m blessed, but the economic woes have affected many people in my life, so I consider it a minefield subject and wouldn’t bring it up even if you tried to make me.  Life back then?  It’s so far removed from my current life that it seems another person went to high school in that town.

Why am I even going to this reunion?  I get the little information I require about my classmates, and then some, from Facebook.  I remember.  I’ve renewed a friendship with someone I knew in high school.  He’s very extroverted, lived in multiple large neighborhoods, and knows everyone.  He has great memories of high school.  I can’t remember most of the things he tells me and get that dazed and confused look.  I’m not good at pretending, either.

But, I might be the one to recognize the face of the attendee that not one other person can recall.  It could be nice to see the friend who let me wear his letter jacket on the football bus when I was freezing because my brother let someone else wear his.  Maybe I could get inspiration from the couple who got married during high school and ARE STILL married although they suffered the tragedy of losing a child in the service.

Our classmate’s recent widower could probably use some encouragement and distraction.  And the friend, practically a sister, who included me as her maid-of-honor will be there, too.  It would definitely be good to see the friend who routinely made me laugh so hard that I thought I’d have an accident.  I lived in her neighborhood while waiting for our new house to be built after our old one burned down.  And I could see my friend who is still recovering from a serious illness.

Okay, got to run.  I hear a store calling my name.

~Lori

Potentially interesting links:

Keeping In Touch Years Later (video)

10 Ways to Reconnect and Revel (ideas)

Conversation Starters You Might Not Want To Use (list)

Reunion Etiquette (tips from a high school reunion committee)

One response to “Motivation and High School Reunions

  1. Susan sent me your blog link and you guys are hilarious! Had to post to Lori’s as my high school reunion is this weekend and I’m dealing with the exact same thoughts! I hope yours went well, Lori and you had fun, even in a swimsuit! I went and bought a new outfit last weekend just for my reunion. Have to admit, I went for the “sluttier” of the two outfits I was looking at because I was a complete nerd in high school and part of me wants to look good! In addition, I’ve been studying my high school yearbook to make sure I remember who was in my class. I guess I am still a nerd 😦

Leave a Reply

