Survivor: High School Reunion Edition

Why didn’t I know that my high school reunion weekend would be an absolute blast?

I arrived just in time to learn that my friends had been permanently kicked out of the hospitality room at the hotel, at 5:00 in the afternoon!   The hotel was surprised that high school reunion attendees congregated and talked in the hospitality room?  Really?

So, I escaped day one with no bathing suit required.  Then in a lucky twist, Saturday started out overcast and later saw light rain.  So, I got to hang on the beach and by the pool without looking conspicuously overdressed, even though I never took off my cover up!

I don’t know what I was worried about or why I thought I wouldn’t have anything to say to these people.   Many of them knew me on a daily basis back in the day and I have known some since elementary school.  There was absolutely nothing to prove and lots of catching up to do.  It was like the years hadn’t even passed.

Except now I dance.  One of my coffee cups says ‘dance as though no one is watching you’, and I did!  My feet aren’t hindered by shoes much since I work from home and they didn’t appreciate my dancing like a crazy person in heels.  But, I planned ahead, and just switched to flat sandals after I developed blisters.

It was hilarious to see seven of my male classmates dancing around in shades and various accessories, like boas, chaps, and red wigs, to ‘YMCA’ and then serenading our female reunion coordinator.

My classmates
My classmates!              Original, uncropped photo by Jeffords Studio

Then there is the person that none of my friends remember from high school, and it wasn’t a large class.  (We even verified that he is, in fact, in multiple year books.)  But, now we know him from the reunions.  He came all the way from Washington State for the reunion, again.

When I was young, I thought you grew up and became more responsible, more admirable, more “grown up”.  Then I became “grown up” and realized everyone still has most of the same characteristics or idiosyncrasies they had when they were young; they are just older.   Most are still just as outrageous or funny or sweet as they were.  We still feel like those teenagers inside and stayed up until 3 a.m. both nights to prove it!

I heard somewhere that it’s good to have friends who remember you from your youth and my reunion supported that theory.  I don’t think I even noticed the grey hair or wrinkles on my friends.

Everyone was disappointed to leave when Sunday rolled around.  So, rather than wait for the next five year reunion, we’re planning a group trip the year of our next milestone birthday.  And, I’m planning to spend the upcoming holiday weekend in South Carolina with a classmate I hadn’t seen since graduation, yet we picked up right where we left off.  I’m sure I’ll smile for days straight again.

Good things definitely come from high school reunions!  Make sure you go and see what surprisingly good things come from yours!

~ Lori

Another believer in the Souza verse

3 responses to “Survivor: High School Reunion Edition

  1. I’ve had two high school reunions so far, neither of which I’ve attended. For both I had actual, legit excuses (a wedding each time – they always have them the night before Thanksgiving), but each time I wouldn’t have gone even if I was free. The further from high school I get, the more I think I’m likely to go, but I’m just not there yet. This post will definitely make me think twice for the next one 🙂

  2. My thirtieth reunion is supposed to be next year, yikes where does time even go!! We have a girl that no one remembers from school, but she claims to know everyone and to have been there, even though NONE of us remember her…hahahahha…

  3. I bet you could walk into any random high school reunion pick up a name tag and fake it. My friend from high school’s wife did it at our last reunion. I know there is nothing like a high school reunion to make you feel old and decrepid.

Leave a Reply

