New Wheels

Today, I sent my passport off for some new tires.  I’m almost out of pages and with 2 years still left on my old passport (in addition to some of my favorite memories) I’m opting for new pages to give this one a few more miles. 

I told you before, I have a travel twitch.  And with a new year, and a whole bunch of new vacation days available, it’s starting to go crazy. 

But the thought of not having that passport and having to start fresh (with no stamps) makes me really sad.  I love browsing through my passport while traveling or waiting in line at immigration, looking at the stamps and thinking of the memories that I’ve taken with me from place to place.

I think it’s for that reason too, that I’m always amazed when I talk to friends, family, or even strangers that have no desire to leave the US.  Some don’t even care about leaving the state!  And apparently they aren’t alone.  According to a recent study on cnn.com, only 30% of Americans have passports, and 50% of the international trips that Americans took in 2009 were to either Canada or Mexico, which didn’t even require a passport before 2007! 

Anyway back to my passport… it’s in the mail and I will be nervous until I get it back.  Am I the only one that feels this way? 

– Erin

3 responses to “New Wheels

  1. I know what you mean about people and traveling. I’m amazed at the ones who say they’ve never left the state and have no desire to! I’m somewhere in between- I’d love to travel but just haven’t done it. I’m psyching myself for a trip by myself to Tuscany this spring.

    There is something about having an important piece of documentation out of your possession. Very disquieting. When I got a new driver’s license they gave me a temp paper thing and it really bugged me. Weird.

    • It took me awhile to start traveling solo, but after the first time, I realized it was no biggie at all. It can definitely be scary at first – what are you going to do at night? Who will you talk to? But especially if youre traveling to a touristy place, people in general seem willing and wanting to meet new people and share stories! And Tuscany… what a place to start 🙂

  2. Pingback: Escape artists | SHEality

Leave a Reply

